Song “Velosity”

The sixth song on “God Has a Cadillac Too” is “Velosity”.  Yup it’s spelled wrong on purpose.  Don’t know why we did that but we did.  Here are the lyrics…

Pray for velocity, pray for velocity
I don’t want anything from you, I’m digging up my own
Wish you could be here now, digging up your own
No one can see you now, rate you on how deep you go
I don’t want anything from you, I’m digging up my own
And I pray for velocity, pray for velocity

spotify:track:60Lui9kMxS0lGSgluD9gFO

In this song, Casey again wrote the beautiful soundscape groove.  He also plays the hypnotic lead in the middle of the song and at the end.  I wrote the simple, concise lyrics.  It’s about “digging in the dirt” as Peter Gabriel would say.  The dirt being a traumatizing past.  Also the lyrics reflect the old saying “If you’re busy minding my business, you ain’t minding your own”.  When I was digging up my own dirt and working through my own stuff, I learned to mind my own business and not to judge others (a lesson that goes on and on).  It’s also how I wish more people would dig up their own dirt and start minding their own business.

"God Has a Cadillac Too" CD cover

Leave a Reply

