Song “Reading Into Stuff”

The second song off “God Has a Cadillac Too” is “Reading Into Stuff”.  Here are the lyrics…

I’m at a stand still looking at my dark side
Now I’ll die my foundation is with the divine

(Chorus)
Was there something that your little girl wanted inside?
Was there something that your little boy needed inside?
Was there something that you didn’t get when you were a child?
Was there somewhere that you wanted to go before you died?
Die die die…

You say it’s alright then you turn into blasphamy
You say you’re my friend then you don’t even ask for me

(Chorus)

(Bridge)
Running through fields of indigo green
Down to the bottomless ocean
Into the trees then down on your knees
The desert calls for devotion

Running through fields of indigo green
Down to the bottomless ocean
Into the trees then down on your knees
Devotion

(Verse)
The knife cuts through the fog like a piece of cheesecake
All the feelings that I had or tried to shake
All the ones that built up in my tremendous lake
I can’t deal with it now I’m busy being fake

(Chorus)

spotify:track:39Ixh4TpOOX4KmZ2F1b0Yl

Casey came up with the chord progression and the rhythm to this track.  I wrote the lyrics.   I’ll try to explain them as best I can.

When I first started going to deep feeling therapy I found it hard to keep my old friends.  We just couldn’t relate any longer.  The lyrics are about facing my demons (trauma, old neurotic patterns, etc.) and realizing that my friends, relatives, and just plain old acquaintances would not go there.  When I would start to talk about the truth I was discovering, their eyes would kind of glaze over, or they’d misinterpret what I was trying to say.  People just don’t want to be faced with their neurosis, no matter how insignificant.  The only thing I was doing to face them with it was only telling them of my own experience… nothing more.  Even this seemed to be too much.

This track was released without the bridge (which was written only recently).  If you’d like to hear the song with the bridge please email maheekat @ maheekatmusic.com and we’ll send you a copy.

Clara by the Cadillac that God took back

Leave a Reply

